web stats

How to DELETE & DEACTIVATE your Telegram Account on Android

There are actually not many reasons to want to delete your Telegram account. However, this is possible without any problems.

If after a trial period you have decided that Telegram is not for you after all, I’ll show you how to delete or deactivate your account here. One fact will probably surprise you.

Lately, I’ve been getting more and more notifications that contacts are now using Telegram. After a few weeks, you then unfortunately no longer use Telegram. I usually can’t understand this, because Telegram is currently the best messaging service in my opinion and offers many advantages over WhatsApp.

Deactivate or delete Telegram account

Since I get a lot of questions about how to delete your Telegram account, I would like to write them down here. It is important to know that you cannot deactivate your account temporarily. However, you can delete it of course, but here Telegram has an amazing feature on board.

How to DELETE & DEACTIVATE your Telegram Account on Android

Deactivate account

You probably won’t know this: Telegram will automatically delete your account if you haven’t used it for six months. Deactivation is not possible. So if you want to deactivate it theoretically, you could let your contacts know by editing your profile info and name accordingly and pointing it out.

Schedule account deletion

As mentioned before, your account will be deleted automatically after some time without activity. This cannot be turned off. Of course, you can shorten or lengthen the period.

  • To do this, open Telegram and go into the settings
  • Now tap on Privacy and Security
  • Scroll down to the Advanced section
  • Tap on the item Delete account on inactivity

You can now choose when you want your account to be deleted: 1 month, 3 months, 6 months (default) or 1 year.

Delete Telegram account immediately

Apart from the mentioned options, you can of course also remove your account immediately. However, this function is not available in any native Telegram app. So you have to use your browser for this. Visit the Telegram web portal. You will probably be asked to enter your phone number. You will then receive an authorization code via Telegram.

  • Enter the code on the page
  • You will be taken to a page where you can select Delete Account. Tap on it.

Now you will be asked several times to confirm the process. If you are sure, all your chats and media will be removed from the Telegram cloud. You will not be able to retrieve this data later.

Leave a Comment